The National Disability Awards offer a platform to recognise the efforts being carried out by individuals, teams and organisations that have improved the lives of Australians with disability.

Do you know someone who is bringing about a change for people with disability?

A nomination for a National Disability Award is a great way to honour individuals and organisations that raise awareness of disability issues within our community.

Help us celebrate those Australians who work tirelessly to reduce social discrimination and uphold the rights of people with disability.

Nominations for the National Disability Awards close at 11.59pm AEST on 6 August 2017.

Nominate now at

Key dates

2017 National Disability Awards nominations open21 June 2017
2017 National Disability Awards nominations close6 August 2017
2017 National Disability Award finalists announcedEarly October 2017
2017 National Disability Awards ceremony3 December 2017
International Day of People with Disability3 December 2017

Award categories

  1. Lesley Hall Leadership Award – recognises excellence in development of reform opportunities that improve the lives of people with disability.


  1. Employer of the Year Award – recognises excellence in workforce diversity by providing sustainable employment opportunities for people with disability.


  1. Community Excellence Award – recognises excellence in improving access and participation in Australian life for people with disability.


  1. Excellence in Innovation Award – recognises excellence in innovation in services, places, communities or accessible technologies to improve the lives of people with disability.


  1. Excellence in Education and Training Award – recognises excellence in inclusive education or vocational training that delivers improved economic and social outcomes for people with disability.